How to Get Book Reviews on Amazon For Free (A Step by Step Guide)

How to Get Book Reviews on Amazon For Free

Most authors think that writing a book is the hard part.

As an independent author, getting reviews for your book is probably one of the hardest things you'll ever have to do.

Where do you start? Who do you ask? How does it even work?

This is a complete step by step systematic process to give you a near unlimited amount of reviews for your book.

They're right — it's a herculean task to get a book out of your head, onto the page, and in a format that other people can use.

But it's not the hardest part of being an author. In today's world, where self publishing is so accessible to authors at any level and in any genre, the real problem is getting attention for your book.

After all, the best-written, most valuable book on Earth isn't worth anything if nobody cracks it open and starts to read it.

While there are a number of strategies out there to get attention for your book, one of the best is to leverage the way that Amazon works when you launch a book on their platform.

Amazon determines where your book ranks in its category on a few key factors. Honest, in-depth reviews of your book are one of those key factors (alongside book sales).

If you're a first-time author, or an experienced writer without a large platform, this might discourage you . It can feel like a chicken and egg situation. No one will see your book if you can't get reviews, but you can't get book reviews because people aren't seeing your book.

How do you break the cycle?

In this article, we'll go over simple, practical, and (most importantly) ethical ways on how to get reviews for your book on Amazon.

Be warned: this will take effort. But if you put in the work and follow the steps, you will get genuine reviews for your book, catapulting up the rankings and in front of the readers you want to reach.

Don't have the time? Check out our service tailored for independent authors. This is ALL we do!

If you value your time at more than $4.00/hour, then using BookRazor is proven to be the more efficient choice

50

potential reviewers

(we need ~3,500 total book reviews to research)

  • reviewer name
  • book reviewed
  • email address
  • reviewer profile
  • email template
  • 6-9 days to complete

$29.99

100

potential reviewers

(we need ~8,000 total book reviews to research)

  • reviewer name
  • book reviewed
  • email address
  • reviewer profile
  • email template
  • 6-9 days to complete

$49.99

Most Popular!

200

potential reviewers

(we need ~15,000 total book reviews to research)

  • reviewer name
  • book reviewed
  • email address
  • reviewer profile
  • accolades (VINE, etc.)
  • review URL
  • email template
  • 8-12 days to complete

$99.99

MOST POPULAR!

500

potential reviewers

(we need ~40,000 total book reviews to research)

  • reviewer name
  • book reviewed
  • email address
  • reviewer profile
  • accolades (VINE, etc.)
  • review URL
  • email template
  • 9-13 days to complete

$224.99

I have been extremely impressed with Book Razor's help at getting contacts in the book world and I am pleased to say as a result of their help I have had several offers of reviews! Thank you so much, you have helped me realise that things can progress. The customer service was impeccable and I would give them 10/10 for reliability too. Overall I would not hesitate to recommend them to others. Keep up the amazing service!!
Andrew Spriggs
Andrew Spriggs
2018-03-04T21:34:20+0000
I'm new to digital marketing and at 74 finding all the programs and systems difficult to use. I didn't know how to search Amazon to get my first list but was guided through the whole process in a very friendly and helpful way. I now have my target list of reviewers and suggestions about the letters I write. I'm surprised by the number of nicknames on the list which I would probably have preferred to avoid, but I suppose that's how things are. A lot of the reviewers come from a few individual titles so I guess there are a lot of potential reviewers out there that I don't know about. It would have been good to get a response that said, we have located x significant reviewers who are worthy of consideration and then gone on to allow questions to edit the list down, such as full forename or surname and a price to purchase the whole remaining list.
Roy Chadwick
Roy Chadwick
2018-02-10T08:09:40+0000
I'm very impressed. A quick, efficient way to identify people who I can ask to review my book. Thank you very much!
Clark Finnical
Clark Finnical
2018-02-06T11:45:42+0000
I was very impressed with the service provided. I had long heard of searching Amazon reviews for potential reviewers, but going through the thousands of reviews was a very daunting task. I had put it off for months until I found about BookRazor. A few days later, I had 200+ people to ask and already many have replied with interest. I will definitely be using the service again in the future.
Josh Landeros
Josh Landeros
2018-01-29T19:08:14+0000
Excellent service. I dreaded to do this myself and scroll through thousands of reviewers to find the most appropriate ones. BookRazor did this for me in record time and also sent me a guide of how to approach the reviewers and ask politely for their honest and unbiased reviews. I found them to be extremely relevant since as soon as I sent the emails out, replies started coming back and people requesting my book for their reading pleasure. Will definitely use them again!Nick DreamAuthor of Endohuman: Love Vs Duty
Siopilos Afigitis
Siopilos Afigitis
2018-01-18T18:16:07+0000
Update: I ran into issues in the beginning, but Dane was more than fair in correcting the issue. I’ve updated it to reflect the changes.
Forrest Kane
Forrest Kane
2018-01-13T18:47:52+0000
Incredibly professional and personable. They not only send you a list of potential reviewers, but also give you a sample letter and tips for requesting reviews. Book Razor is one of my staples now. Try them. They are absolutely worth it.
Em Justcallme
Em Justcallme
2017-12-30T19:00:01+0000
I've heard great things about this service from my author friends, so I decided to give it a go. Amazon reviews are so, so important to a book's reputation and success, especially for us indie authors. The last time I queried Amazon reviewers, I didn't know what I was doing and basically just went down the list of top ranked reviewers. Needless to say, that didn't go so well. So I was really glad to hear about how Book Razor curates lists of reviewers for you, helping you reach people who'd actually be interested in your book. It's such a time saver! I just got my list today, so I can't comment on how effective this will be, but already, Book Razor has saved me the headache of clicking though Amazon, wondering who I should even bother emailing. Excited to see how this all turns out!
Mary Fan
Mary Fan
2017-12-19T05:57:30+0000
I was told about the service via a friend and I was a fraction sceptical, but once I'd reached out to enquire their professionalism and enthusiasm immediately calmed my fears. I couldn't be more pleased with the result, plus there were lots of additional tips and pointers to help me further. Really impressed and can't recommend enough!!
Steven Smith
Steven Smith
2017-12-18T21:37:45+0000
This service is worth its weight in gold. I'm Canadian and therefore it can be difficult to move into the US market, but even in a smaller sub-genre of fantasy this list gave me 80ish potential reviewers. I have 8 new reviewers agreed within 1 day, and I expect this will go up. Communication with vendor is excellent and friendly, too. Will absolutely be using for all my books.
Richard Nell
Richard Nell
2017-12-08T20:27:26+0000
BookRazor was a time saver! What a wonderful resource. This is a personalized service. I would highly recommend.
Amy Gold
Amy Gold
2017-12-01T21:59:32+0000
The service provided by Book Razor was amazing. After a few days I received a list of potential reviewers and about 11-12 replied within 72 h, satisfied to read, and make an honest review about the book!I could not me more satisfied with the service, as well Dane has a very personalized approach to each author, and tries to give a step-by-step procedure about the best practices to be succeeded. This is what I say, going beyond what we expect. So I recommend with no doubt Book Razor and wish them the best success!
Maria Inês Rebelo
Maria Inês Rebelo
2017-11-25T16:28:22+0000
Exactly as advertised. You are not guaranteed fifty responses, but you will generate interest in enough people to notch some honest reviews. Prompt, polite, and professional.
Jackson Palmer
Jackson Palmer
2017-11-22T19:56:50+0000
I have just tried to publish my first book and I never realized how difficult it can be to generate interest. After looking around at other books being published and seeing how they have hundreds of reviews withing a short amount of time I put some research into how that's possible. That is when I stumbled across BookRazor.After sending out my emails, already I have had three responses. Everything seems very professional and I would recommend this company to other writers who are finding it difficult to also get started.
Melissa Wheeler Hill
Melissa Wheeler Hill
2017-11-05T14:30:33+0000
I've read about the service before, but never quite took any note of it.It was only once I read an article on book razor on how to make consistent sales that Book Razor grabbed my attention. It was the first article that actually made sense and that lured me in.About the service, trust me I've tried manually searching through every review, but after the second hour, it becomes depressing!Using Book Razor was fantastic. The first thing that struck me was that Dane had a very personal touch to any email query. Something else that struck me was the turnaround time. My order was delivered a few days before the 'deadline' and that's also a good thing.I received a good list of the top reviewers and cannot wait to connect with all my potential reviewers.
Brady Möller
Brady Möller
2017-11-04T00:08:45+0000
I loved the assistance and honesty involved with BOOK RAZOR. I now look forward to receiving my reviews.Quick time - I had already spent hours looking for needle in the haystack reviewers etc - Glad I found you to provide the list.
Marie Otigba
Marie Otigba
2017-10-30T18:01:50+0000
Book Razor is an excellent service which I found quite easy to use. I got insight into the reviewers when I read previous reviews they wrote on books and merchandise. I wrote each review request carefully and it took time, but I enjoyed reaching out to intelligent people who take time to review books, like the golf books we write. In fact, one of the reviewers had already reviewed one of our other books and it was fun to get in touch with him and thank him again for his great review.Will be using BookRazor more.BruceTeamGolfwell
John Johnson
John Johnson
2017-10-18T18:58:34+0000
Excellent turn-around time & what looks like a great list. I'll update with results.
Chris Ciolli
Chris Ciolli
2017-10-15T21:22:03+0000
I am very impressed with this service. Venturing into self publishing and getting noticed is hard work, and the service offered by Book Razor is extremely valuable. The response form them was fast, genuine, and respectful... and with helpful tips as well. I am getting good results, and have only sent a few emails. Highly recommended.
Brett Harrison
Brett Harrison
2017-09-28T22:55:50+0000
The percentage of reviews to emails BookRazor gives is ten percent. I emailed seventy-seven people about my debut horror novel KIND NEPENTHE and got eleven reviews, which is better than their estimate! I also made several new fans who both blogged about my novel and asked that I tell them when my next book comes out.
Matthew Brockmeyer
Matthew Brockmeyer
2017-09-18T15:16:54+0000
Great service provided by Dane at BookRazor. I provided a list of books I thought had some similarity to mine.They provided a list of potential reviewers within a couple of days. They did exactly what they said they would. Thank you!
Chris Westlake
Chris Westlake
2017-09-17T18:59:58+0000
For several years, my company has used Bookrazor to help new guides get honest reviews from people who are interested in similar topics. The response rate is excellent.Bottom line: Bookrazor gets results. That's why I keep coming back.
Ian Lamont
Ian Lamont
2017-09-15T20:36:48+0000
Fast!!! I am really excited to get to use these for my client... This saved me SO MUCH TIME!! I usually spend 6-8 hours searching for only half the number of emails I received from BookRazor.
Toni Michelle
Toni Michelle
2017-09-03T20:03:11+0000
BookRazor is an amazing service. I liked how they had one person who helped me through the process, especially since I was unsure of how the whole thing worked. Their representative was supportive and helped me when I adjusted my links. BookRazor offers more insight than I'd be able to attain on my own and really helped connect me with people who might enjoy my writing. I would definitely use again in the future.
Lisa McShane
Lisa McShane
2017-09-01T23:29:14+0000
These guys sourced loads of emails and all the required details for me to make targeted book review requests. Including a template, emails addresses, the book they reviewed like mine, etc. They did so quickly and with great communication. Will use again and recommend this service to all who are struggling to get reviews.
Shah Wharton
Shah Wharton
2017-08-27T17:36:55+0000
Dane from BookRazor helped me with a balanced and detailed information on the possible reader groups for my first novel published a month ago. Courteous and professional, Dane and BookRazor deserve a pat on their back for the hard work they have put in so far to promote my book. Thank you BookRazor! Am already receiving some response on my book, exciting times!
Samrat Mitra
Samrat Mitra
2017-08-23T23:13:23+0000
As an Australian author, getting reviews on Amazon's US website (where it matters) has been tough when most of my Advanced Reader Team are restricted to providing reviews on the Australian website only. Thanks to Dane and the team, BookRazor has made it simple to connect with motivated readers in the US. I recommend this service to any author who is looking for a positive and simple way to boost sales through more reviews.
Trevor Douglas Author
Trevor Douglas Author
2017-08-16T10:07:44+0000
So far, so good. Well within the promised time they delivered my set of reviewers with contact info, plus as a bonus they included links to the reviews these reviewers have written -- giving me both a better sense of the personality/style of the reviewer, as well as a way to to refer more personally to the reviewer's work when I contact him/her. I'm sending the first batch of queries out today, will update again when I have a better sense of how it goes, but BookRazor delivered as promised with information I could not have obtained on my own.
Andrew Pessin
Andrew Pessin
2017-08-07T15:48:23+0000
It is an awesome service. I had thought they would come back to me after a week but in three days I received a reaponse. They also provided me with a template and two articles to help me along the way. I recommend this service to anyone looking for an opportunity to find amazon reviewers without being bogged down with the actual task of doing so.
Vanessa Ruveneko Gowora
Vanessa Ruveneko Gowora
2017-07-19T11:14:05+0000
Book Razor is worth the investment. Most authors don't have time to research reviewers, blogs, etc. that might be interested in their book. I wasn't sure if this service would be worth it, but it is. It's like having a PR assistant or intern help you out for a very reasonable price. I would recommend this service to any author looking for qualified reviewers for their book. After sending emails out, several reviewers responded the same day.
Deanna Cabinian Milojkovic
Deanna Cabinian Milojkovic
2017-07-09T14:29:59+0000
Simple and straightforward service. I got many qualified leads. Great turnaround. NOt only it saved me countless hours but the response rate was amazing. Most of the people responded within 24 hours and so far 2 out of 3 are interested in reviewing the book. What else can you ask for?
Gustavo Razzetti
Gustavo Razzetti
2017-06-19T04:40:17+0000
This is a great service. I emailed out to all 50 names today, and have already had three reviewers contact me within a few minutes of me finishing, including one Top 500 reviewer. I'm hoping for a lot more. As others have said, this service takes all the work our of finding reviewers.
Jane F MacKenzie
Jane F MacKenzie
2017-06-16T16:44:22+0000
BookRazor is a find. They were totally professional and really prompt. The website clearly guides you through the process. And when you get the contacts, they explain the next steps and give sound advice. It's hard for an author to get reviews and even friends with good intentions get busy and don't have the time to help. So connecting with avid readers who have left numerous reviews is a great idea.
Terry John Barto
Terry John Barto
2017-06-11T17:05:16+0000
I've been so impressed with the service from the initial email right through to providing me with the reviewer template. Attention to detail along with exceptional customer service. I would definitely recommend BookRazor to other authors.
Samantha Gabriela
Samantha Gabriela
2017-06-09T03:03:21+0000

The Many Ways to Get Reviews

Later in this article, we'll cover a step-by-step process to get free book reviews. But first, let's cover the many ways that authors try to get reviews for their books.

1. Friends, Family, and Acquaintances

Almost all authors start out here, and for good reason. Without much of a platform to market their work, they go to their trusted circle of family, friends, and acquaintances.

This is effective, because these people have a personal connection to you and are willing to help you out even if they may not be one of your target readers.

Note: It is frowned upon to ask your close connections to review your book if they haven't read it. Just because they're likely to leave a review no matter what doesn't mean that you should allow it.

2. Book Blogging Communities

Over the past 5-7 years, the number of people who make a living writing books and selling them on Amazon has risen drastically. Naturally, so has a support network aimed at helping these authors scale their success. Book blogging communities can take many forms, from outright self-promotion bordering on shady tactics, to large, reputable book mailing lists like BookBub. As a general rule, these should be approached with caution unless you have a proven book that you know will work well with a specific site or book marketing list.

3. Amazon Top Reviewers

Most articles teaching you how to get a book reviewed will recommend Amazon Top Reviewers as a core part of the strategy. It's not a bad idea, but it becomes less and less effective the more people use it. Think about it — there are a finite number of top reviewers, and an ever-increasing list of authors who want reviews for their books. At some point this model breaks. Your pitches offering free books in exchange for an honest review will start falling on deaf ears because there are simply too many other authors looking for the same thing. However, an intelligent approach to Top Reviewers should still be considered.

4. Book Review Services

Book review services take two forms:

  1. Services that offer positive reviews for a fee
  2. Services that expedite the review-getting process for a fee

Hopefully we don't have to explain why purchasing #1 is a bad idea. Not only does it go directly against Amazon's promotional content and customer review policies, it's not very effective. You're buying reviews from people who have never read the book, so it's likely to be a very generic and obviously fake review. Amazon's good enough to detect those, even on an IP-level for some of the more popular services. Just don't use them.

However, services that offer to speed up the review process can be worth their weight in gold, like BookRazor (shameless plug). The tactics we'll get into in the next section are very time consuming, so anything that can speed up the process without sacrificing quality is a good use of money. These can take the form of services that find reviewers for you, provide templates for emailing, etc — they're quite diverse.

Dispelling A Few Myths

Having worked with many authors on book launches and obtaining reviews, there are a few common misconceptions and beliefs that prevent authors from getting the most they can out of their books. Give these a quick read and see if you have any of them within you:

You're Allowed to Ask People to Help You

This is a common struggle for many creative types. Often, they feel it's unethical or sleazy to ask their friends, family, or acquaintances for help with their project. They have so much trouble with even those groups that the thought of asking "random strangers" for help is completely out of the question. If this is something you struggle with, remember that other people ask you for help all of the time. It's in our nature to respond favorably to requests for help, especially when you're offering something in return.

Your Book Sales Won't Take a Hit

The most common objection we get when sharing our book review techniques is, "Won't this hurt my book sales? I want to sell as many copies as possible!" While the logic isn't false, it is a bit twisted. When an author is starting out, eyeballs and visibility are often far more important than raw book sales. Would you rather get 100% of book sales to an audience of 100 people, or 50% of an audience of 2,000?

How to Get Book Reviews: A Step-By-Step Framework

Phew! Now that we've gotten all of the introductory information out of the way, let's get to work, shall we? This framework will work for any authors that puts in the time and effort required to make it a success. Before we get into each step, here is a rough outline:

  1. Start this entire process at least two months before you launch your book
  2. Compile a list of people you want to review your book
  3. Email them and offer them a copy of your book
  4. Compile a list of people who you sent a copy of your book
  5. Email them three times:
  1. 7 days before your book launches
  2. Day your book launches
  3. Personalized email 2-3 days after book launches

Looks simple? It is. But the little details in each step are what separates a successful review campaign from a failure. Let's get into it.

1. When Should I Start My Book Promotions?

Because we're dealing with a complex ask (reading and reviewing a book), it makes sense to give people as much as possible to get this task done. A good rule of thumb is to start the review process at least two months beforehand. This gives you enough time to get your list of people together, make your pitches, and follow up 2-3 times. Then you need to allow time for them to read and digest your book. Only then can they review it. If you try to rush the process, your results will be drastically worse.

2. Have You Already Launched Your Book?

While this guide is written for authors who have yet to launch their book, the principles work equally well if your book is already out and you're looking for more reviews. Just follow steps 2-5 and modify your email templates to the following:

  1. Introduction and initial pitch
  2. Check-in email three weeks after email #1
  3. Final check-in and link to review page one week after email #2

3. Come Up With Your List of Reviewers

The goal here is to start with as big a list of people as you can come up with. Not everyone will respond to your first pitch, not everyone will want a copy of your book, and there will even be some people who don't review your book after receiving a copy. This is unavoidable, but by coming up with a large list of initial people you can mitigate these problems a bit.

There are a few sources you should look to to build this list:

3.1 Family, Friends, and Acquaintances

The people on this list are your "tier one" reviewers. It's highly likely that they will not only respond to your pitch, but will enthusiastically help you by reviewing your book and sharing it with their networks as well. Add as many people to this list as you can think of, but be sure not to head over to Gmail and add all of your contacts while thinking, "If I've emailed them, they must be 'acquaintances', right?" Wrong!

3.2 Reviewers of Similar Books in Your Genre

Where this system really shines is in this step right here. Go to Amazon and browse through your book categories for popular books that are similar to your own. Here's what you're looking for:

  1. Related books with a high number of related reviews
  2. Positive reviews
  3. Reviews that have been voted "Most Helpful"

These criteria ensure that the reviewers you find are relevant and interested, making them exceptional candidates to review your book. When you find these reviewers, look for:

  1. Their email address (usually found on their profile page)
  2. Reviewers that have written a review in the last few months, to ensure they're still active on the platform

After you've exhausted the reviews on one book, move to another book until you run out of similar books that have reviews. This is by far the most time consuming part of the process, but doing good work here will pay dividends for the rest of the process.

4. Email Your List and Offer a Copy of Your Book

Once you've completed the arduous process of compiling a review pitch list, it's time to communicate with them! Your first email will introduce yourself, your book, and offer a copy of the book. It will NOT talk about how much you love your book, how badly you need reviews, or anything else that you want from them. It's designed to offer value to your list — that's it.

IMPORTANT: The below email templates are merely suggestions. I strongly encourage you to compose your own. The below may have been copied and re-used to death.

Think of the credibility and authenticity you lose when a potential reviewer has already received the same email outreach from hundreds of different authors. 

Subject: My New Book

Hi [First Name],

Hope you're well! [Add a personal intro sentence here].

Over the past [time period], I've been working on a book called [title of book], about [one sentence description of book topic]. It's going to launch in [number of weeks] on Amazon.

The way publishing a book works these days, one of the most valuable things I can do is launch the book with reader reviews on Amazon.

That's why I'm writing you. Would you like to receive a free copy of my book? I would be happy to send you either a digital copy or a physical copy — whichever you prefer.

If so, I'd also sincerely appreciate it if you considered leaving an honest review once it launches on [Date]. It's by no means necessary, but would be much appreciated.

If you want a physical copy, just reply with your address and I'll ship it out to you ASAP. If you'd prefer a digital copy, just reply and let me know and I'll send it right out to you.

Thanks so much for your time!

[your name]

The key to this email is the suggestion that they be receptive to leaving a review for your book once they're done reading it. While it's frowned upon to outright agree to trade a book for a review (even if it's unbiased), it's completely fine to suggest that a review would be appreciated.

Don't send this as a mass email. It reeks of non-personalization and your success rate will go way down. The opening line in this email should be as personal as possible. That's easy to accomplish if you're writing to family or friends, but gets more time consuming when you are emailing reviewers you found on Amazon. It helps to do a little Googling and figure out what these people are about. Is there a commonality that you share? Something they enjoy? That little bit of personalization is a signal that you didn't email the same script to 500 people, and drastically increases your response rate.

Keep your list in a spreadsheet and track the following:

  1. Name
  2. Email
  3. First email send date
  4. 1 week before send date
  5. Launch send date
  6. Review secured?

5. Send Them a Copy

Prepare to get a lot of responses. People are usually receptive to a custom email pitch like the one above. Once people start saying "Yes," make sure you send them the book as soon as possible.

If you're sending digitally, send them a zipped file of the three popular digital formats (.pdf, .epub, and .mobi) so you don't have to go back and forth with them over file types. It would be helpful to include quick instructions on how to use each filetype, just in case they don't know.

Remember — you're asking them to read your book and leave a review. These are NOT small asks. Do everything in your power to make the process as painless as possible for them.

6. Create a List of Reviewers

The first round of emails was all personal outreach. One on one. Now that you have a subsection of that original list that has accepted a book in exchange for an honest review, it's safe to add them to an email list and mail them all at once.

A free and easy to manage option is MailChimp. Just copy and paste all of the names and emails that accepted your offer into your Mailchimp list and name it "[Book title] Reviewer List."

7. Remind Your Reviewers a Week Before Launch

Like everyone else, your reviewers are busy people. If you ship out a copy and hope they'll remember to leave a review the day your book launches, your results will be poor. It's best to send a few gentle reminders, prodding them to fulfill their end of the bargain — leaving a review of your book once it launches.

Subject: [First name], [Book Title] Launches in a Week!

Hey [First name],

I wanted to say thanks for agreeing to read [Book Title]. I can't tell you how much it means to me to get this book out in the world on [Date].

I'm writing you to see if you had any questions or feedback before the book launches. If you are open to leaving a review but are not sure what to say about the book or in a review in general, it's totally fine to just leave your general thoughts.

One last thing: if you decide to leave a review, it's important to mention that you received a review copy of the book.

Take care,

[Your name]

There are two main points to hit in this email:

  1. It's a gentle nudge to anyone on your list that hasn't read the book yet.
  2. It primes them for launch day and reminds them that they agreed to read and potentially review your book.

You'd be surprised how forgetful people can be, even when it comes to things that they really want to do. Giving them a gentle reminder helps prime them to take action.

8. Announce the Book on Launch Day

The day your book launches, you want to email your list and let them know one final time that your book is out and they have committed to leaving a review. It's best to schedule this the night before for 6 or 7am EST so your email is staring them in the face first thing in the morning. This way they can leave their review and be on with their day.

Subject: It's Launch Day For [Book Title]

Hey [First name],

Morning! I wanted to send a quick and easy reminder that [Book Title] has launched and is available on Amazon! Thank you again for giving it a look before launch. It means a lot.

If you'd like to leave your thoughts on the book in a review, you can do so here (it would be greatly appreciated):

Click here to leave a review for [Book Title].

Again, I can't tell you how much it means that you've taken the time to help out with the book launch. If there's anything that I can do for you, please don't hesitate to ask.

Thank you,

[Your name]

This email should be short and to the point. All you want them to do is read it, give them a gentle nudge to review your book, have them click the link, and review your book. Simple.

9. Follow Up With Each Reviewer After Your Launch

If you've done your job, reviews should start coming in over the course of the next day or two. It's time to thank your list. At this point, it's best to go back to a personal email instead of a mass-email. This way you can connect more with your reviewers, who by now may be genuine fans of your work.

If you want to take it even further, you can send everyone on your list an email, even if they didn't end up reviewing your book. This personal touch often spurs another segment of the list to leave a review. Even though it might be late, it still helps your book rank higher in your Amazon category.

A Note on Effort

As you can see, this isn't a quick and easy process. But that's what makes it valuable. Simply put, most authors launching books on Amazon don't go through even half of this effort to get their book out there, and consequently end up with a lackluster book launch. They get discouraged and may stop writing altogether, or decide that it's just "impossible" to be an author these days.

With self-publishing bringing the barriers to entry to book publishing way down, there are many more authors these days than there ever were in the past. You can choose to see that as a problem, lamenting how hard it is to get noticed these days, or you can do the work that other authors won't — and reap all of the rewards.

If you want to streamline this process a bit without sacrificing the essence of what makes it work, you can use a service like ours which does the reviewer sourcing for you. You'll still have to do the rest of the pitching yourself, but we've become experts at finding Amazon reviewers that are interested in your book category and topic, and have a history of leaving honest reviews for new authors.

Once again, if you don't have the time, we specialize in providing a cheap, done for you version of this.

If you value your time at more than $4.00/hour, then our service is the better bang for the buck.

50

potential reviewers

(we need ~3,500 total book reviews to research)

  • reviewer name
  • book reviewed
  • email address
  • reviewer profile
  • email template
  • 6-9 days to complete

$29.99

100

potential reviewers

(we need ~8,000 total book reviews to research)

  • reviewer name
  • book reviewed
  • email address
  • reviewer profile
  • email template
  • 6-9 days to complete

$49.99

Most Popular!

200

potential reviewers

(we need ~15,000 total book reviews to research)

  • reviewer name
  • book reviewed
  • email address
  • reviewer profile
  • accolades (VINE, etc.)
  • review URL
  • email template
  • 8-12 days to complete

$99.99

MOST POPULAR!

500

potential reviewers

(we need ~40,000 total book reviews to research)

  • reviewer name
  • book reviewed
  • email address
  • reviewer profile
  • accolades (VINE, etc.)
  • review URL
  • email template
  • 9-13 days to complete

$224.99

I have been extremely impressed with Book Razor's help at getting contacts in the book world and I am pleased to say as a result of their help I have had several offers of reviews! Thank you so much, you have helped me realise that things can progress. The customer service was impeccable and I would give them 10/10 for reliability too. Overall I would not hesitate to recommend them to others. Keep up the amazing service!!
Andrew Spriggs
Andrew Spriggs
2018-03-04T21:34:20+0000
I'm new to digital marketing and at 74 finding all the programs and systems difficult to use. I didn't know how to search Amazon to get my first list but was guided through the whole process in a very friendly and helpful way. I now have my target list of reviewers and suggestions about the letters I write. I'm surprised by the number of nicknames on the list which I would probably have preferred to avoid, but I suppose that's how things are. A lot of the reviewers come from a few individual titles so I guess there are a lot of potential reviewers out there that I don't know about. It would have been good to get a response that said, we have located x significant reviewers who are worthy of consideration and then gone on to allow questions to edit the list down, such as full forename or surname and a price to purchase the whole remaining list.
Roy Chadwick
Roy Chadwick
2018-02-10T08:09:40+0000
I'm very impressed. A quick, efficient way to identify people who I can ask to review my book. Thank you very much!
Clark Finnical
Clark Finnical
2018-02-06T11:45:42+0000
I was very impressed with the service provided. I had long heard of searching Amazon reviews for potential reviewers, but going through the thousands of reviews was a very daunting task. I had put it off for months until I found about BookRazor. A few days later, I had 200+ people to ask and already many have replied with interest. I will definitely be using the service again in the future.
Josh Landeros
Josh Landeros
2018-01-29T19:08:14+0000
Excellent service. I dreaded to do this myself and scroll through thousands of reviewers to find the most appropriate ones. BookRazor did this for me in record time and also sent me a guide of how to approach the reviewers and ask politely for their honest and unbiased reviews. I found them to be extremely relevant since as soon as I sent the emails out, replies started coming back and people requesting my book for their reading pleasure. Will definitely use them again!Nick DreamAuthor of Endohuman: Love Vs Duty
Siopilos Afigitis
Siopilos Afigitis
2018-01-18T18:16:07+0000
Update: I ran into issues in the beginning, but Dane was more than fair in correcting the issue. I’ve updated it to reflect the changes.
Forrest Kane
Forrest Kane
2018-01-13T18:47:52+0000
Incredibly professional and personable. They not only send you a list of potential reviewers, but also give you a sample letter and tips for requesting reviews. Book Razor is one of my staples now. Try them. They are absolutely worth it.
Em Justcallme
Em Justcallme
2017-12-30T19:00:01+0000
I've heard great things about this service from my author friends, so I decided to give it a go. Amazon reviews are so, so important to a book's reputation and success, especially for us indie authors. The last time I queried Amazon reviewers, I didn't know what I was doing and basically just went down the list of top ranked reviewers. Needless to say, that didn't go so well. So I was really glad to hear about how Book Razor curates lists of reviewers for you, helping you reach people who'd actually be interested in your book. It's such a time saver! I just got my list today, so I can't comment on how effective this will be, but already, Book Razor has saved me the headache of clicking though Amazon, wondering who I should even bother emailing. Excited to see how this all turns out!
Mary Fan
Mary Fan
2017-12-19T05:57:30+0000
I was told about the service via a friend and I was a fraction sceptical, but once I'd reached out to enquire their professionalism and enthusiasm immediately calmed my fears. I couldn't be more pleased with the result, plus there were lots of additional tips and pointers to help me further. Really impressed and can't recommend enough!!
Steven Smith
Steven Smith
2017-12-18T21:37:45+0000
This service is worth its weight in gold. I'm Canadian and therefore it can be difficult to move into the US market, but even in a smaller sub-genre of fantasy this list gave me 80ish potential reviewers. I have 8 new reviewers agreed within 1 day, and I expect this will go up. Communication with vendor is excellent and friendly, too. Will absolutely be using for all my books.
Richard Nell
Richard Nell
2017-12-08T20:27:26+0000
BookRazor was a time saver! What a wonderful resource. This is a personalized service. I would highly recommend.
Amy Gold
Amy Gold
2017-12-01T21:59:32+0000
The service provided by Book Razor was amazing. After a few days I received a list of potential reviewers and about 11-12 replied within 72 h, satisfied to read, and make an honest review about the book!I could not me more satisfied with the service, as well Dane has a very personalized approach to each author, and tries to give a step-by-step procedure about the best practices to be succeeded. This is what I say, going beyond what we expect. So I recommend with no doubt Book Razor and wish them the best success!
Maria Inês Rebelo
Maria Inês Rebelo
2017-11-25T16:28:22+0000
Exactly as advertised. You are not guaranteed fifty responses, but you will generate interest in enough people to notch some honest reviews. Prompt, polite, and professional.
Jackson Palmer
Jackson Palmer
2017-11-22T19:56:50+0000
I have just tried to publish my first book and I never realized how difficult it can be to generate interest. After looking around at other books being published and seeing how they have hundreds of reviews withing a short amount of time I put some research into how that's possible. That is when I stumbled across BookRazor.After sending out my emails, already I have had three responses. Everything seems very professional and I would recommend this company to other writers who are finding it difficult to also get started.
Melissa Wheeler Hill
Melissa Wheeler Hill
2017-11-05T14:30:33+0000
I've read about the service before, but never quite took any note of it.It was only once I read an article on book razor on how to make consistent sales that Book Razor grabbed my attention. It was the first article that actually made sense and that lured me in.About the service, trust me I've tried manually searching through every review, but after the second hour, it becomes depressing!Using Book Razor was fantastic. The first thing that struck me was that Dane had a very personal touch to any email query. Something else that struck me was the turnaround time. My order was delivered a few days before the 'deadline' and that's also a good thing.I received a good list of the top reviewers and cannot wait to connect with all my potential reviewers.
Brady Möller
Brady Möller
2017-11-04T00:08:45+0000
I loved the assistance and honesty involved with BOOK RAZOR. I now look forward to receiving my reviews.Quick time - I had already spent hours looking for needle in the haystack reviewers etc - Glad I found you to provide the list.
Marie Otigba
Marie Otigba
2017-10-30T18:01:50+0000
Book Razor is an excellent service which I found quite easy to use. I got insight into the reviewers when I read previous reviews they wrote on books and merchandise. I wrote each review request carefully and it took time, but I enjoyed reaching out to intelligent people who take time to review books, like the golf books we write. In fact, one of the reviewers had already reviewed one of our other books and it was fun to get in touch with him and thank him again for his great review.Will be using BookRazor more.BruceTeamGolfwell
John Johnson
John Johnson
2017-10-18T18:58:34+0000
Excellent turn-around time & what looks like a great list. I'll update with results.
Chris Ciolli
Chris Ciolli
2017-10-15T21:22:03+0000
I am very impressed with this service. Venturing into self publishing and getting noticed is hard work, and the service offered by Book Razor is extremely valuable. The response form them was fast, genuine, and respectful... and with helpful tips as well. I am getting good results, and have only sent a few emails. Highly recommended.
Brett Harrison
Brett Harrison
2017-09-28T22:55:50+0000
The percentage of reviews to emails BookRazor gives is ten percent. I emailed seventy-seven people about my debut horror novel KIND NEPENTHE and got eleven reviews, which is better than their estimate! I also made several new fans who both blogged about my novel and asked that I tell them when my next book comes out.
Matthew Brockmeyer
Matthew Brockmeyer
2017-09-18T15:16:54+0000
Great service provided by Dane at BookRazor. I provided a list of books I thought had some similarity to mine.They provided a list of potential reviewers within a couple of days. They did exactly what they said they would. Thank you!
Chris Westlake
Chris Westlake
2017-09-17T18:59:58+0000
For several years, my company has used Bookrazor to help new guides get honest reviews from people who are interested in similar topics. The response rate is excellent.Bottom line: Bookrazor gets results. That's why I keep coming back.
Ian Lamont
Ian Lamont
2017-09-15T20:36:48+0000
Fast!!! I am really excited to get to use these for my client... This saved me SO MUCH TIME!! I usually spend 6-8 hours searching for only half the number of emails I received from BookRazor.
Toni Michelle
Toni Michelle
2017-09-03T20:03:11+0000
BookRazor is an amazing service. I liked how they had one person who helped me through the process, especially since I was unsure of how the whole thing worked. Their representative was supportive and helped me when I adjusted my links. BookRazor offers more insight than I'd be able to attain on my own and really helped connect me with people who might enjoy my writing. I would definitely use again in the future.
Lisa McShane
Lisa McShane
2017-09-01T23:29:14+0000
These guys sourced loads of emails and all the required details for me to make targeted book review requests. Including a template, emails addresses, the book they reviewed like mine, etc. They did so quickly and with great communication. Will use again and recommend this service to all who are struggling to get reviews.
Shah Wharton
Shah Wharton
2017-08-27T17:36:55+0000
Dane from BookRazor helped me with a balanced and detailed information on the possible reader groups for my first novel published a month ago. Courteous and professional, Dane and BookRazor deserve a pat on their back for the hard work they have put in so far to promote my book. Thank you BookRazor! Am already receiving some response on my book, exciting times!
Samrat Mitra
Samrat Mitra
2017-08-23T23:13:23+0000
As an Australian author, getting reviews on Amazon's US website (where it matters) has been tough when most of my Advanced Reader Team are restricted to providing reviews on the Australian website only. Thanks to Dane and the team, BookRazor has made it simple to connect with motivated readers in the US. I recommend this service to any author who is looking for a positive and simple way to boost sales through more reviews.
Trevor Douglas Author
Trevor Douglas Author
2017-08-16T10:07:44+0000
So far, so good. Well within the promised time they delivered my set of reviewers with contact info, plus as a bonus they included links to the reviews these reviewers have written -- giving me both a better sense of the personality/style of the reviewer, as well as a way to to refer more personally to the reviewer's work when I contact him/her. I'm sending the first batch of queries out today, will update again when I have a better sense of how it goes, but BookRazor delivered as promised with information I could not have obtained on my own.
Andrew Pessin
Andrew Pessin
2017-08-07T15:48:23+0000
It is an awesome service. I had thought they would come back to me after a week but in three days I received a reaponse. They also provided me with a template and two articles to help me along the way. I recommend this service to anyone looking for an opportunity to find amazon reviewers without being bogged down with the actual task of doing so.
Vanessa Ruveneko Gowora
Vanessa Ruveneko Gowora
2017-07-19T11:14:05+0000
Book Razor is worth the investment. Most authors don't have time to research reviewers, blogs, etc. that might be interested in their book. I wasn't sure if this service would be worth it, but it is. It's like having a PR assistant or intern help you out for a very reasonable price. I would recommend this service to any author looking for qualified reviewers for their book. After sending emails out, several reviewers responded the same day.
Deanna Cabinian Milojkovic
Deanna Cabinian Milojkovic
2017-07-09T14:29:59+0000
Simple and straightforward service. I got many qualified leads. Great turnaround. NOt only it saved me countless hours but the response rate was amazing. Most of the people responded within 24 hours and so far 2 out of 3 are interested in reviewing the book. What else can you ask for?
Gustavo Razzetti
Gustavo Razzetti
2017-06-19T04:40:17+0000
This is a great service. I emailed out to all 50 names today, and have already had three reviewers contact me within a few minutes of me finishing, including one Top 500 reviewer. I'm hoping for a lot more. As others have said, this service takes all the work our of finding reviewers.
Jane F MacKenzie
Jane F MacKenzie
2017-06-16T16:44:22+0000
BookRazor is a find. They were totally professional and really prompt. The website clearly guides you through the process. And when you get the contacts, they explain the next steps and give sound advice. It's hard for an author to get reviews and even friends with good intentions get busy and don't have the time to help. So connecting with avid readers who have left numerous reviews is a great idea.
Terry John Barto
Terry John Barto
2017-06-11T17:05:16+0000
I've been so impressed with the service from the initial email right through to providing me with the reviewer template. Attention to detail along with exceptional customer service. I would definitely recommend BookRazor to other authors.
Samantha Gabriela
Samantha Gabriela
2017-06-09T03:03:21+0000